The first headquarters of the institution (from 1957) was at Stefánia (at that time: Vorosilov, later Népstadion) út 97, formerly the halls of residence of the College of Theatre and Film. 

The main building

The main building in Buda (Budakeszi út 51/E) was inaugurated in late 1976; architect: Mária Siklós.

The stained glass window (photo: Zoltán Kerekes)

The building has a stained glass window made by applied artist György Z. Gács. The lobby’s ceramic relief (a dragon) and statue in the garden are by János Majoros.

Archive projector (photo: Zoltán Kerekes)

In order to resolve storage problems, in 1994 the building on Stefánia Road was exchanged for a building on the premises of the Hungarian Film Laboratory, which was renovated and rebuilt, new storerooms were established, and the library was transferred from Stefánia Road to here.

Air-conditioned storeroom (photo: Zoltán Kerekes)

Currently the Archive has a 1725-sqm air-conditioned storeroom, where the approximately 810 tonnes of film reels are stored on a total of 14 km of shelving.

We use cookies on our site to improve performance and enhance your user experience.ACCEPT